Wyoming Court Records
What is Child Support and When does it Occur in Wyoming?
When parties who have had a child together undergo divorce, separation, paternity testing, a custody battle can follow. If the court grants one parent custody of the child, the law still requires that both parents support them. Parties will create a custody arrangement that works for both of them and helps the child. In Wyoming, child support is included in custody arrangements and refers to the monetary support that one party gives to the other, who has custody of the child. The Wyoming Child Support Program of the Wyoming Department of Family Services is responsible for determining how much child support will be and enforcing the payments.
Records that are considered public may be accessible from some third-party websites. These websites often make searching more straightforward, as they are not limited by geographic location, and search engines on these sites may help when starting a search for a specific or multiple records. To begin using such a search engine on a third-party or government website, interested parties usually must provide:
- The name of the person involved in the record, unless said person is a juvenile
- The location or assumed location of the document or person involved
Third-party sites are independent of government sources and are not sponsored by these government agencies. Because of this, record availability on third-party websites may vary.
What is Wyoming Child Support?
Wyoming Statute § 20–2–3 outlines the definition of child support and the purposes of it. The main goal of child support is to allow a way for the parent without custody to protect and care for their child. Child support comes in monetary payments from the non-custodial parent to the custodial parent to aid in childcare.
What Does Child Support Cover in Wyoming?
Child support is meant to cover expenses to support child development, which means that the payments go beyond basic human needs. According to Wyoming statutes § 20–2–301, this can include:
- Health care
- Health insurance costs, including dental and vision insurance
- Childcare expenses
What is the Average Child Support Payment in Wyoming?
The average child support payment in Wyoming is $484. According to Wyoming child support guidelines, the non-custodial parent of a family with two children, on average, pays between 20% to 36.8% of the family’s entire net income. The guidelines also assign additional payments if the non-custodial parent’s income rises above a certain amount.
How Do I apply for Child Support in Wyoming?
Individuals can petition to receive child support by applying for services through the Wyoming Child Support Program. The submission of the application opens up a child support enforcement case. Parties can obtain an application by contacting the local child support office in-person, by phone, or by email. Typically, the fee for opening a case is $25.00. Eligible persons include:
- A parent who is owed child support
- A parent who owes child support
- A parent who wishes to establish paternity of their child
- A person with custody over a child who wishes to establish paternity or is owed child support
Eligible persons can apply to the Wyoming Child Support Program online to receive child support payments. They can also use the program to compel the non-custodial parent to make the payments if they have not yet.
How Do I Get Out of Paying Child Support in Wyoming?
Individuals in Wyoming have the right to petition the Family Court to modify or contest child support payments. The state does not allow federal exemptions for child support payments and typically does not allow exemptions using state statutes.
What is Back Child Support in Wyoming?
Wyoming back child support refers to child support paid to the custodial parent retroactively. Suppose the non-custodial parent declines to pay child support for some time. Back child support refers to the payments that the court enforces the non-custodial parents to make from their missed payments. The custodial parents have the right to these payments.
How do I Get Back Child Support Paid in Wyoming?
The custodial parent should notify the local child support office of back child support. If the non-custodial parent refuses to make payments, the custodial parent can file an enforcement action with Family Court. With the Child Support Enforcement’s (CSE) help, this action gives the court judge jurisdiction to compel the other parent to make payments. If the delinquent parent still refuses, they could be held in “contempt of court” and face fines or jail time. Family court and CSE use legal and financial tactics to obtain overdue or outstanding payments from delinquent parents. Some examples include:
- Reporting debt to credit bureaus
- Appropriating federal income tax refunds to pay the debt
- Withholding income from employers
- Delaying passport or I. D. renewals
- Working with agencies outside of the state
- Suspending licenses for driving, work, or hunting
- Placing a lien and levy on financial accounts and property
Is there a Wyoming Statutes of Limitation on Child Support?
No, Wyoming does not have a statute of limitations on child support. The court can still enforce child support orders after the child has turned 18 years old or become emancipated.