Wyoming Court Records
What are Wyoming Traffic Tickets?
A traffic ticket in Wyoming is a notice of a fine enforced on a driver for illegal parking or breaking a traffic law. In Wyoming, there are two types of traffic violations; the moving violation and the non-moving violation. A moving violation happens when a traffic law is violated by a vehicle in motion. Examples of moving violations are speeding, running a stop sign or red light, and driving while impaired.
Many believe that a non-moving violation only occurs when a faulty part of the vehicle or the vehicle is parked. However, in Wyoming, this type of breach can also occur while the car is in motion. Driving while texting, driving without a seatbelt, and inattentive driving and examples of non-moving violations. Wyoming traffic tickets cost $5 per MPH over the speed limit from 66 to 70 MPH. If the vehicle is above 70 MPH, the fine is $25 with $3 for every additional MPH. Wyoming Highway Patrol is the law enforcement agency that issues tickets within the state.
Records that are considered public may also be accessible from some third-party websites. These websites often make searching simpler, as they are not limited by geographic location, and search engines on these sites may help when starting a search for a specific or multiple records. To begin using such a search engine on a third-party or government website, interested parties usually must provide:
- The name of the person involved in the record, unless said person is a juvenile
- The location or assumed location of the record or person involved. This includes information such as the city, county, or state that person resides in or was accused in.
Third-party sites are independent from government sources and are not sponsored by these government agencies. Because of this, record availability on third-party sites may vary.
What Does a Traffic Citation Mean?
A traffic citation is also known as a traffic ticket, and a driver that gets a citation should show up at the traffic court to pay a fine related to the charge or other court costs. If the traffic violator refuses to show up in the court, such an individual will face the risk of having additional fines or other punishments. Nevertheless, a traffic citation can be sorted out without the need to appear in court.
How Do I Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wyoming?
In Wyoming, paying a traffic ticket means the driver is pleading guilty and has accepted to pay the associated fines. Traffic violators can pay for traffic tickets via mail, in person, or online. However, payment methods may vary with different District Courts, but the traffic citation given will have instructions on how and where to pay. The traffic ticket will include the acceptable payment options for that violation. Other details contained in a citation are the court’s name, physical address, mailing address, and email of the circuit court. When paying by mail, drivers must include the pink copy of the citation.
Can You Pay Wyoming Traffic Tickets Online?
Yes, it is possible to pay Wyoming traffic tickets online, and this route is less complicated. However, some courts accept online payment using Wyoming’s citation payment system, but it only works for Circuit Courts in Wyoming. Before paying online, there are few things to note;
- Every citation comes with a convenience fee
- If the citation requires the driver appears in court, payment can’t be made online
- Paying the fine online after receiving a notice of license suspension will not prevent the driver’s license from being suspended.
- Payment after a warrant has been issued will require the warrant to remain active until the court processes the payment and withdraws the warrant.
How do I Pay a Ticket Online in Wyoming?
Traffic law offenders will be required to provide their date of birth, complete name, the traffic citation number, case number, driving license number, the total amount on the traffic ticket and card information to finalize payment of traffic fines online in Wyoming. Additionally, when paying traffic tickets online, the traffic offenders will have to pay an extra $5 convenience fee.
What is the Wyoming Traffic Ticketing System?
Wyoming’s Department of Transportation (DOT) doesn’t work under a driving record point framework. Notwithstanding, there are punishments, including driver’s permit suspension and renouncement for continuous speeding tickets or different violations that show an example of reckless driving. Law enforcement officers produce traffic tickets, and by law, a road user can have up to three moving violations of any type within a year. However, the driver’s license suspension occurs after a third infraction. Tickets issued for traffic offenses do not always require a court trial, and fines vary from court to court. Alleged offenders also can hire an attorney as legal representation to contest a ticket or make a plea at the Circuit Court. Contesting a ticket can result in having charges dropped or reduced. Traffic infractions in Wyoming are within the jurisdiction of a Municipal Court or Circuit Court. Major violations that attract severe penalties in Wyoming include:
- Reckless driving
- Driving without an insurance
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Not obtaining a Commercial Driver License (CDL)
- Use of cellphone while driving
For commercial drivers, the Wyoming law stipulates that disqualification can ensue if a commercial driver is convicted of 2 or more severe moving violations within three years. The first offense disqualification is 60 days, and a third offense may cause a 120-day disqualification.
How Do I Know if I Have a Traffic Ticket in Wyoming?
To know about an outstanding ticket, interested parties may visit the Wyoming Department of Transportation or download the Release of Driving Record & Personal Information form. Information that must be stated in the form includes Wyoming driver’s license number, social security number, full name, and date of birth. It takes 7 to 10 business days to complete the process, and a $5 fee will be charged. Also, electronic signatures are not allowed; only manual signatures on the printed request form are permitted. Send the completed form by mail to:
Wyoming Department of Transportation
Driver Services, Driving Records
5300 Bishop Blvd
Cheyenne, WY 82009–3340
How Can I Find a Lost Traffic Ticket in Wyoming?
To find a lost traffic ticket in Wyoming, contact the relevant circuit court or municipal court in the locality where the ticket was issued. Some personal details such as full name, driver’s license number, and birth date can be requested to identify the ticket. It takes about 7 to 10 business days before tickets are registered with the court’s records section. Notwithstanding, traffic violators can still contact the respective Circuit Court to make inquiries.
How Long Does a Traffic Ticket Stay on Your Record in Wyoming?
Traffic infractions such as speeding can stay as long as 12 years on a driving history record. For DUI charges, Wyoming imposes criminal and administrative penalties, which may remain up to 5 years on a person’s driving record. Other violations with a 5-year stay on a driving history record include vehicular homicide, reckless driving, leaving the scene of an injury accident, and felony. Offenses against the traffic law such as moving violations, compulsory insurance violations, uninsured accidents, and nonresident violator compact violations may remain on a record for three years.
Is a Summons Worse Than a Ticket in Wyoming?
Summons in Wyoming bear the court’s seal, and it indicates that the receiver should appear in court. However, failure to do so may result in a default judgment against the defendant. Individuals who receive traffic tickets can have it sorted out without necessarily appearing in court for trial. Traffic tickets may only attract some fines, but Summons may come with more severe punishment. To this end, a summons is worse than a traffic ticket.