wyomingCourtRecords.us is a privately owned website that is not owned or operated by any state government agency.
Notice

CourtRecords.us is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), and does not assemble or evaluate information for the purpose of supplying consumer reports.

You understand that by clicking “I Agree” you consent to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy agree not to use information provided by CourtRecords.us for any purpose under the FCRA, including to make determinations regarding an individual’s eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or for tenant screening.

This website contains information collected from public and private resources. CourtRecords.us cannot confirm that information provided below is accurate or complete. Please use information provided by CourtRecords.us responsibly.

You understand that by clicking “I Agree”, CourtRecords.us will conduct only a preliminary people search of the information you provide and that a search of any records will only be conducted and made available after you register for an account or purchase a report.

Wyoming Court Records

WyomingCourtRecords.us is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the FCRA and does not provide consumer reports. All searches conducted on WyomingCourtRecords.us are subject to the Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.

disclaimer

What is a DUI in Wyoming?

In Wyoming State, it is against the law for individuals to drive a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A person is charged with DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is above the legal limit of 0.08 percent. The Wyoming Judicial Branch handles both civil and criminal DUI violations. Also, the state’s Department of Transportation (DOT) generally manages and administers punishment for traffic offenses, including DUI.

What happens when you get a DUI for the First Time in Wyoming?

The first conviction of a DUI in Wyoming carries punishments assessed by the state court and the Department of Transportation. If found guilty of a first-time DUI, offenders can face jail time of up to six months. Offenders can also pay fines amounting to $750 or less. The DOT administers punishments that affect the driving privileges of offenders, such as a ninety-day license suspension. If the driver’s BAC is above 0.14 percent at the time of arrest, they may have to equip an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle. For underage DUI violation, offenders face a maximum $750 fine and a ninety-day suspension of license.

How Likely is Jail Time After a First DUI in Wyoming?

Following the Wyoming DUI Statutes, it is not likely that a first DUI offender will face jail time. While offenders can get up to a six-month jail sentence, there is no mandatory minimum sentence for a first DUI. Offenders can accrue other civil penalties such as payment of fines and the suspension/restriction of license.

What are the Typical Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Wyoming?

Following a DUI conviction in Wyoming, offenders can face penalties imposed by the Judicial Branch or the Department of Transportation. Generally, the severity of such penalties primarily depends on the number of convictions accumulated within a ten-year span. Penalties that individuals convicted of DUI face include:

  • First DUI conviction: Upon conviction of a DUI violation for the first time, offenders face up to a six-month jail sentence and a $750 fine or less. The DOT can also punish first-time offenders with a ninety-day suspension of license. Having a blood alcohol concentration above 0.15 percent may warrant the installation of IID in the vehicle for half a year.
  • Second DUI conviction: Having a second DUI conviction within ten years of the initial conviction is punishable by a mandatory minimum of a week in jail and a six-month maximum sentence. Such conviction also incurs a fine between $250 to $750. The DOT can suspend the license and order the offenders to equip their vehicle with an IID for a year. Additionally, offenders would have to complete a court-ordered substance abuse program.
  • Third DUI conviction: If a driver is guilty of a third DUI violation within ten years, they are subject to jail time between one month to six months. They can also pay a fine from $750 to $3000. Administrative penalties include a three-year suspension of the license and the use of an IID in a vehicle for two years.
  • Fourth and subsequent DUI convictions: The penalties that a fourth or subsequent DUI violations carry include a jail sentence that can reach two years, a maximum fine of $10000, the long-term suspension of license, and the indefinite use of an IID. Offenders will also be mandated to participate in a court-approved alcohol treatment program.

How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, DUI can stay on a driving record ten years from the date of the traffic ticket booking. On criminal records, a felony DUI conviction stays lifelong on an offender’s record, while a misdemeanor DUI conviction can be expunged at least five years after the date of conviction. To expunge such records, offenders must make sure they have completed the penalties for that conviction. Usually, the DUI must not include the use of firearms to be expugnable.

Records that are considered public may be accessible from some third-party websites. These websites often make searching simpler, as they are not limited by geographic location, and search engines on these sites may help when starting a search for a specific or multiple records. To begin using such a search engine on a third-party or government website, interested parties usually must provide:

  • The name of the person involved in the record, unless said person is a juvenile
  • The location or assumed location of the record or person involved. This includes information such as the city, county, or state that person resides in or was accused in.

Third-party sites are independent from government sources, and are not sponsored by these government agencies. Because of this, record availability on third-party sites may vary.

How do I Find DUI Checkpoints in Wyoming?

Wyoming laws prohibit the use of DUI checkpoints to identify impaired driving on the roads. Generally, DUI checkpoints or sobriety checkpoints authorizes law enforcement officers to use roadblocks as a means of randomly stopping vehicles and subjecting drivers to a field sobriety test. However, law officers can pull over drivers that display signs of impairment and subject them to blood or breath tests.

What is an Aggravated DUI in Wyoming?

An aggravated DUI in Wyoming increases the penalties faced by persons that commit such violations. Typically, this occurs when a DUI incident involves some serious issues such as:

  • At the time of the violation, the individual’s blood test shows that the alcohol concentration is 0.15 percent or more.
  • People died or were physically hurt due to an accident that occurred as a result of impaired driving
  • Refusal of a driver to stop the vehicle on the instruction of a police officer.
  • If there is a minor passenger present during the DUI incident

What Happens When You Get a DUI in Wyoming?

Getting a DUI in Wyoming has repercussions that include administrative, civil, and criminal penalties. The police officer will seize the offender’s license after an apprehension and a Notice of Suspension will be issued. Individuals that wish to challenge their license suspension can contact the Wyoming Office of Administrative Hearings and request a hearing. Interested individuals have a twenty-day period from the notice of suspension to make the request. Persons can also challenge civil or criminal DUI charges in court.

disclaimer